Note: The deadline for new applications for both the sixth cycle of Advanced Accreditation and the pilot cycle of Intermediate Accreditation has passed. 

About TEPHINET Accreditation

TEPHINET accreditation is an opportunity for field epidemiology training programs (FETPs) to align with common standards that support quality training and increased recognition of their value in supporting country public health priorities.

Since the launch of its first cycle of accreditation in 2016, the TEPHINET Global Accrediting Body (GAB) has accredited 18 programs (see Training Programs to find accredited programs).

TEPHINET developed the process and standards for accreditation over a five-year period with input from its global network of programs and partners including the TEPHINET Accreditation Working Group (AWG). These standards are grouped into five domains:

  1. Management, Infrastructure and Operations
  2. Integration with Public Health Service
  3. Staffing and Supervision
  4. Selection and Training of Residents
  5. Continuous Quality Improvement

The accreditation process may take up to a year or more to complete and consists of five key stages:

  1. Accreditation Readiness Assessment
  2. Letter of Intent and Certification of Eligibility
  3. Accreditation Application
  4. Site Visit by Review Team
  5. GAB Review and Decision

Preparation for accreditation requires a concerted effort on the part of the FETP and may take a program several months or longer. The driving force behind accreditation is quality improvement. Any program can use the accreditation indicators and standards to identify areas of improvement regardless of its intent to apply for accreditation.

The sixth accreditation cycle opened on August 18, 2021. TEPHINET member FETPs received, via email, an official announcement of the opening of the sixth cycle of FETP accreditation as well as instructions for participating in the process. Programs that have completed the Accreditation Readiness Assessment and have determined that they meet all of the basic eligibility requirements and the Accreditation Minimum Indicators and Standards are encouraged to apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Can Apply?

Basic eligibility requirements for Advanced Level FETPs planning to apply:

  • The majority of residents' time is spent in field work (minimum of 68 weeks)
  • The duration of the program is equal to or greater than 21 months
  • At least two cohorts have completed the program within the past five years, and at least 75 percent of the total residents who started the program also completed it

Basic eligibility requirements for Intermediate Level FETPs planning to apply:

  • The majority of participants’ time is spent in field work, and no more than 25% of the entire duration of the program is spent in the classroom (didactic/formal course work)
  • The duration of the program is at least 33 weeks (7.5 months) and not more than 65 weeks (15 months)
  • At least two cohorts of participants have completed the program within the past four years. At least 75% of the total participants who started the program also completed it
  • At least 80% of participants are employed in a public health institution
How Do I Become an Accreditation Reviewer?

Visit this page for more information.

Have Questions?

Email them to accreditation [at] tephinet [dot] org.


Header photo: Gerald Munai, Kenya Field Epidemiology and Laboratory Training Program (FELTP)